The OIC City of Tourism 2019

Dhaka was chosen as the ‘City of Tourism’ for 2019 during the 10th Islamic Conference of Tourism Ministers (ICTM) held on 5-7 February 2018 in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

The Conference, attended by high-level representatives and ministers of tourism of the OIC Member States, also adopted the Dhaka Declaration to preserve and promote Islamic culture and heritage of Bangladesh.

In line with the implementation of the Declaration, OIC will host various programmes for the commemoration of Dhaka as OIC City of Tourism 2019, including renovation projects and allocation of airtime in the OIC Member States to showcase the city of Dhaka.

Gabala in Azerbaijan was declared The OIC City of Tourism for 2020. Previously, Al-Quds (Palestine), Konya (Turkey), Madina (Saudi Arabia), and Tabriz (Iran) were named OIC City of Tourism in 2016, 2017 and 2018 respectively.  

Dhaka Declaration Adopted by the Tenth Islamic Conference of Tourism Ministers (English)

Report of the Sixth Coordination Committee Meeting on Tourism (English

Download the PDF "Souvenir of Dhaka The OIC City of Tourism"